Perspective on the Rome Deal

Good posting over at O God, come to my assistance. Read the full posting:

Believe it or not, there are some of us Anglo-Catholics who are Anglican on purpose – even Episcopalian.  I am an Anglican because of the historic appeal to Scripture, reason, and canon law.*  I am an Anglican because of our venerable liturgical tradition.  I am an Anglican because of the via media.**  I’m an Anglican because I hold Anglicanism to be one part of the One, Holy, Catholic, and Apostolic Church but cannot stomach any claim by any ecclesial body to be the only part of it.  I am an Anglican because I believe that all the baptized are welcome to receive communion.  I am an Anglican because though I have a strong Marian devotion, pray for the dead daily as part of the Guild of All Souls, and find benediction of the blessed sacrament a powerful devotional experience I do not demand everyone do so.  I am Anglican because I place much value in living a life of common prayer, but do not equate common with sameness.

Well put!

This entry was posted in Anglican, Episcopal, Noted with Interest. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Perspective on the Rome Deal

  1. Eric says:

    I am humbled that you have chosen to use my blog.

Leave a Reply

