The Gospel Truth

From NPR:

Bible scholar Bart Ehrman says that the Gospels are at odds with each other on important points regarding the life, death and divinity of Jesus. In his new book, Jesus, Interrupted: Revealing the Hidden Contradictions in the Bible (And Why We Don’t Know About Them) Ehrman examines how these contradictions affect our understanding of the historical Jesus — and of the authors of the Gospels.

Ehrman is a professor at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and the author of more than a dozen books, including Misquoting Jesus and God’s Problem.

Looks like a book I want to read: The Gospel Truth: Sometimes A Little Hazy : NPR

This entry was posted in Noted with Interest. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Gospel Truth

  1. Siamang says:

    I listened to that on Fresh Air last night.

    I like Erhman and some of the stuff he teaches. I like that he popularizes some of the history I was unaware of.

    But as an atheist, I get the impression that this book would be of more value/enjoyment to believers. I’m sure if I were a believer, I would appreciate his point of reading the gospels as individual works, and not mushing them all together to make a new, UberGospel that removes the relevant points of view.

    But for myself, not being a believer, I’m not all that interested in reading the Gospels to pull esoteric meaning from people I mostly dismiss.

Leave a Reply

