Imagine: Controversy over Liverpool Anglican Cathedral plans to peal John Lennon’s Imagine

Liverpool_Anglican_Cathedral_North_elevation Imagine no controversy:  

Church leaders are being criticised for allowing a John Lennon song linked with atheism, to be performed on Liverpool’s Anglican Cathedral bells.

Imagine – voted one of the greatest songs of all time – is to be played to mark the start of the North West’s Futuresonic Festival on May 13.
Lennon famously described himself and his music as ‘anti-religious’ and Christian groups have blasted the decision as ‘wholly inappropriate.’

Penned in 1971, the song opens with the line ‘Imagine there’s no heaven, It’s easy if you try,’ followed later by ‘Nothing to kill or die for and no religion too.’

Despite realising the concerns over the lyrics of the song the cathedral has decided to go ahead with the bell-ringing, much to the annoyance of traditionalist religious groups.

Read more if you have nothing else to do: Controversey as Liverpool Anglican Cathedral set to peal John Lennon’s Imagine – National News – News – Click Liverpool

This entry was posted in Noted with Interest. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Imagine: Controversy over Liverpool Anglican Cathedral plans to peal John Lennon’s Imagine

  1. Andy M says:

    While I wish the lyrics to the song were different, I hate that christians don’t like it, because the intent of the song is rather beautiful, even if Lennon’s view of the church were skewed. I mean, look at some of the lyrics:

    “Living for today…
    Nothing to kill or die for…
    Living life in peace…
    And the world will be as one…
    No need for greed or hunger…
    Sharing all the world…
    And the world will live as one”

    This is the essence of what Lennon wish for, dreamed of. He just couldn’t get the his perspective of the church to line up with this message, which should tell us something.

  2. And, from the same Church of England hymn sheet, let us all now singly loudly, up to the heavens and God…

    God is a concept,
    By which we can measure,
    Our pain,
    I’ll say it again,
    God is a concept,
    By which we can measure,
    Our pain,
    I don’t believe in magic,
    I don’t believe in I-ching,
    I don’t believe in bible,
    I don’t believe in tarot,
    I don’t believe in Hitler,
    I don’t believe in Jesus,
    I don’t believe in Kennedy,
    I don’t believe in Buddha,
    I don’t believe in mantra,
    I don’t believe in Gita,
    I don’t believe in yoga,
    I don’t believe in kings,
    I don’t believe in Elvis,
    I don’t believe in Zimmerman,
    I don’t believe in Beatles,
    I just believe in me,
    Yoko and me,
    And that’s reality.
    The dream is over,
    What can I say?
    The dream is over,
    Yesterday,
    I was dreamweaver,
    But now I’m reborn,
    I was the walrus,
    But now I’m John,
    And so dear friends,
    You just have to carry on,
    The dream is over.

  3. daleandersen says:

    What a waste! To use Cathedral bells to celebrate the music of a wife-beater, a child-tormentor, an an all-around, low-rent wanker…

    http://tinyurl.com/gay-basher-lennon

  4. Andy M says:

    If we really want to get into the faults and misgivings of certain people, current or historical, we would end up throwing out every person that Christianity holds up as significant. Nobody is perfect, so we must be careful to denounce what is wrong or bad, and hold up what is true and good, even if both truth and untruth, good and bad, are found in the same person, which is normally the case.

  5. religion is of man and satan – not GOD – THE GOSPEL OF CHRIST is a lifestyle and way of life.

Leave a Reply

