Anglican Priest’s stupid gay tattoo remark

AFP via Yahoo News:

LONDON (AFP) – An Anglican priest has apologised over comments made on his blog arguing that gay men should have warnings about sodomy tattooed on their backsides.

Remarks made by Reverend Peter Mullen triggered a furious response from his diocese, which ordered him to remove the “highly offensive” blog post.

“I did not intend to cause any upset but I realise that the remarks were injudicious and I have caused offence. I want to issue an apology,” said Mullen, who ministers to parishes in the City of London financial district.

“I did not intend to cause offence when I made some joking remarks about homosexuals. I was not actually meaning to criticise individual homosexual persons, but the promoters of gay culture.

“However, my remarks have caused offence and for this I am sorry and make a full and complete apology.”

In his original blog post, the 66-year-old wrote: “Let us make it obligatory for homosexuals to have their backsides tattooed with the slogan: SODOMY CAN SERIOUSLY DAMAGE YOUR HEALTH and their chins with: FELLATIO KILLS.”

Ben Summerskill, chief executive of gay rights group Stonewall, described the comments as “nonsense”.

“If I were a vicar at the heart of the City of London, I might be praying about other things at the moment rather than getting hot under the collar about gay sex,” he said, referring to the current global economic turmoil.

Minister sorry for gay tattoo remark – Yahoo! News

This entry was posted in Noted with Interest. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

