Wounded Bird: Fr. Christian Says, "Stop It. Now."

Yes, read this. This extract will entice you to read the whole thing:

Over at his blog, GAFCON, Fr. Christian has wise words for the members of the Anglican Communion. He nearly made me cry, and that NEVER happens over there. I’m usually falling out of my chair laughing. He says:

Lately I’ve been coming across more and more people threatening to leave the Anglican Communion if xyz doesn’t happen. The particular xyz bugging them varies; some are convinced their parish will grow tenfold if a bishop in the North-eastern U.S. resigns, while others feel victimised by a centuries-old colonial conspiracy preventing them from being proclaimed Archbishop of Canterbury, but their response to the bee in their bonnet is always the same ultimatum – “play my way or I’m going”.

That’s wrong, says the wise Fr. Christian.

The first reason is straightforward: I took my vows of ordination because God called me to be a Priest in the Anglican Communion, and as confirmation of that He first convinced a Vocational Assessment panel and their Bishop. Like Evangelical Eric you might find that a mysterious act on the Almighty’s part, and to tell the truth even I wonder about it from time to time, but none of this changes the end result one little bit: I’m here because God called me to be here. If I’d have been predisposed to praise bands and fluorescent ties God would doubtless have called me to another denomination, and you’d call me Pastor Troll instead of Father Christian. Or perhaps if I’d have had a predilection for Jesuits and doing creepy things with the deceased the call would have come from across the Tiber. But instead I was called to be here, and here I am.

Now read it Wounded Bird: Fr. Christian Says, “Stop It. Now.”

This entry was posted in Noted with Interest. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

